Sarah Slean Returns with 'Metaphysics' Album

Sarah Slean Returns with 'Metaphysics' Album
Having been relatively quiet since the release of 2011 double album Land & Sea, Sarah Slean is set to return with her ninth studio album this spring. Titled Metaphysics, Slean's new disc will arrive on April 7 via Cadence Music/Fontana North

A press release describes Metaphysics as "a breathtaking amalgamation of Slean's dramatic orchestral arranging and her signature take on songwriting."

The record includes 10 tracks that feature orchestral string arrangements from Slean herself, in addition to production contributions from the likes of Hawksley Workman, Jean Martin (Tanya Tagaq), Daniel Romano and Joshua Van Tassel (Great Lake Swimmers, Megan Bonnell). Metaphysics was mixed by David Bottrill and Vic Florencia.

Along with the record's announcement, Slean has shared a taste of what's to come from the disc with "Sarah," on which she worked with Romano.

In a statement, Slean had this to say about the track's inception:

The song "Sarah" arrived while I was living on a farm that I had purchased in 2013. Perhaps this rural property was similar to the cabin hibernation I underwent in 2003 to create the 2004 album Day One…. perhaps it was a distraction to deal with not writing or not feeling ready to write…. but it was one thing for sure, a giant metaphor... Gut job and rebuild, no short cuts! Solo. Me, the hammer, the drywall dust, the rose garden, the birds, the dry and brutal winter. Oh, and of course, the piano.

When the melody for "Sarah" arrived, its own inner rhythm engendered numerous verses of lyrics — too many to use — so I had to trim them down to pop-song length…But I think I kept the ones that tell the story most plainly and honestly. Ironically, I've given these somewhat bittersweet lyrics a buoyant, uplifting pop treatment — big shiny horns, "70's cop show" string orchestra, a snappy disco beat. Happiest track I've created in a long time….

Metaphysics is available for pre-order here. Read through the tracklisting to hear "Sarah" in the player below.


1. Perfect Sky
2. Every Rhythm is the Beat
3. The Dark
4. Sarah
5. Loved Well
6. A Thousand Butterflies
7. Holy Ground
8. Not In Vain
9. The Gypsy
10. Nothing But the Light