Matmos Offshoot the Soft Pink Truth Returns with New Album

'Shall We Go On Sinning So That Grace May Increase?' arrives in May
Matmos Offshoot the Soft Pink Truth Returns with New Album
Drew Daniel — best known as one half of sonic explorers Matmos — has announced his fifth studio album as the Soft Pink Truth. Titled Shall We Go On Sinning So That Grace May Increase?, the album arrives May 1 through Thrill Jockey.

Shall We Go On Sinning... features nine tracks that form one long piece of music, which "explores a hypnagogic and ecstatic headspace somewhere between deep dance music and classical minimalism."

As Daniel explained in a statement, Shall We Go On Sinning began as an emotional response to the rise of racism around the world, with the artist's creativity becoming a form of self-care.

The album's title, a biblical quote from Paul the Apostle, appealed to Daniel in how it describes a question he applied to his music-making and how one should live in the world.

"The election of Donald Trump made me feel very angry and sad, but I didn't want to make 'angry white guy' music in a purely reactive mode," Daniel explained. "I felt that I needed to make music through a different process, and to a different emotional outcome, to get past a private feeling of powerlessness by making musical connections with friends and people I admire, to make something that felt socially extended and affirming."

Shall We Go On Sinning features collaborations with vocalists Colin Self, Angel Deradoorian, and Jana Hunter, on top of Daniel's partner/Matmos bandmate M.C. Schmidt, Koye Barry, Andrew Bernstein (Horse Lords), and John Berndt.

A first look at the album arrives with "We," which you can hear in the player below. A press release reveals Matmos are "putting the finishing touches" on a follow-up to last year's Plastic Anniversary.

Shall We Go On Sinning So That Grace May Increase?:

1. Shall
2. We
3. Go
4. On
5. Sinning
6. So
7. That
8. Grace
9. May Increase