Jason Molina Honoured with New Tribute Album Featuring My Morning Jacket, Murder by Death, Wooden Wand

Jason Molina Honoured with New Tribute Album Featuring My Morning Jacket, Murder by Death, Wooden Wand
Following Jason Molina's tragic passing last year, the Songs: Ohia/Magnolia Electric Co. leader has had some of his past works reissued, as well as been honoured with a benefit comp. The latest project to honour the songwriter's legacy is a tribute album called Farewell Transmission: The Music of Jason Molina, which arrives April 22 through Rock the Cause.

The collection includes 27 songs spread across two CDs. Among the contributors are My Morning Jacket, Bottomless Pit, Murder by Death, Viking Moses, Wooden Wand and many more. My Morning Jacket's Jim James additionally makes a feature appearance on a recording by Bro Stephen.

Nearly all of the tracks are covers of familiar songs by Molina, but there are a couple of contributions from the singer's former bandmates under the name Memorial Electro. Co. They cut a previously unrecorded live favourite called "Trouble in Mind (Fade to Blue)," plus a new tune called "Arm in Arm."

Scroll past the tracklist below to stream My Morning Jacket's rendition of "Farewell Transmission" [via Pitchfork].

The album can be pre-ordered here. A portion of proceeds will go to MusiCares, which provides assistance to musicians in need. Some of the money will go to Molina's family.

Farewell Transmission: The Music of Jason Molina:

CD 1:

1. Squares - "Get Out Get Out Get Out"

2. Memorial Electric Co - "Arm in Arm"

3. My Morning Jacket - "Farewell Transmission"

4. Enemy Planes - "Lioness"

5. Murder By Death - "7th Street Wonderland"

6. Sarah Jaffe - "Alone with the Owl"

7. Jonah Tolchin - "Old Black Hen"

8. Ben Lubeck of Farewell Milwaukee - "Leave This City"

9. The Black Swans - "Two Blue Lights"

10. Bro Stephen - "Almost Was Good Enough" (ft. Jim James)

11. Box Of Baby Birds - "Didn't It Rain"

12. Cory Brana - "Memphis Moon"

13. Gabriel Douglas - "The Dark Don't Hide It" (ft. Drew Priener)

14. Fathom Lane - "I've Been Riding with the Ghost"

CD 2:

1. Memorial Electric Co - "Trouble in Mind (Fade to Blue)"

2. Matt Bauer and Heather McEntire - "I Can Not Have Seen the Light"

3. Will Johnson and Briton Biesenherz - "34 Blues"

4. Jim and Jennie & the Pinetops - "Hammer Down"

5. Water Liars - "Just Be Simple"

6. Catherine Irwin - "Steve Albini's Blues"

7. Nathan Salsburg & Joan Shelley - "White Sulfur"

8. Wooden Wand - "Don't This Look Like the Dark"

9. Luke Redfield - "Hear My Heart Final"

10. Viking Moses - "Lioness"

11. Bottomless Pit - "The Big Game Is Every Night"

12. Communist Daughter - "Hold on Magnolia"

13. Jonny James and The Hall of Fames - "John Henry Split My Heart"