Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Mike Watt's Anywhere Announce Debut Album

Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Mike Watt's Anywhere Announce Debut Album
Last year saw the debut of Anywhere, the group featuring Mars Volta frontman Cedric Bixler-Zavala, Minutemen/fIREHOSE bassist Mike Watt, Triclops! guitarist Christian Eric Beaulieu and former Sleepy Sun member Rachel Fannan. The group have already issued two now-sold-out seven-inch singles, and are now upping their game with news of their first full-length.

The seven-song self-titled LP come courtesy of ATP recordings, and its release will be staggered. The recordings will be delivered on limited-edition twelve-inch vinyl on Record Store Day (April 21), but the CD and digital versions will arrive at retailers on May 14.

A press release sheds light on the "eastern acoustic punk" troupe's formation, explaining that Beaulieu and Bixler-Zavala initially conceived the project for a friend's L.A. art show in 2010 before roping Watt and Fannan into the band. Ex-Sleepy Sun singer Fannan handles lead vocals on two tracks, while Bixler-Zavala, who also plays drums for the outfit, sings three. The rest of Anywhere's numbers are instrumentals.

Made up of "minimal electric guitars with a multitude of percussion instrumentation, digital tabla machines, sci-fi electronics and feedback," the record is said to blend Drive like Jehu, the Minutemen and Vashti Bunyan, along with Jack Rose's ragas. You can check out the album's spacey title track down below.


1. Pyramid Mirrors

2. Rosa Rugose

3. Khamsin

4. Dead Golden West

5. Anywhere

6. Shaman Mantra

7. Infrared Moses